IT’S A JAIME THING…

Wedding inspiration, ideas and all things creative!

Join In Our First Giveaway Ever ~ A Signed Copy Of Intimate Weddings!

with 50 comments

Planning An Intimate Wedding?

Congratulations!  If you’ve recently gotten engaged, you might find yourselves with lots of questions.  Do you have a big wedding or a small wedding?  What type of wedding can you afford?  Are small weddings ok?  How does one plan a small and intimate wedding?  Who do you invite?  How will you plan your dream wedding on a tight budget? 

intimate-weddings-book2

So many questions, so little answers?  Enter for your chance to win a signed copy of the book, “Intimate Weddings” by author Christina Friedrichsen!

Get ready to plan the wedding of your dreams – an intimate affair celebrated with just your closest family and friends. With a small wedding, you can gather the most important people in your life into a meaningful setting filled with unique touches that will make yours a truly memorable wedding celebration.” – Christina Friedrichsen

intimate-wedding-ideas

“It’s time to think outside the “big wedding” box and explore the possibilities of a small and intimate wedding.  Before you walk down the aisle, consult the guide that shares your perspective: Intimate is ultimate!”Christina Friedrichsen

Need inspiration this very second?  Head over to the newly launched site by Christina Friedrichsen at www.intimateweddings.com!  While you’re there, be sure to also visit her new Intimate Weddings Blog for daily inspiration and even more helpful planning tips.

intimateweddingsdotcom

One of the easiest ways to save big money and still have a gorgeous wedding is to shrink your guest list

Intimate Weddings can help you decide who makes the cut…even when it seems impossible to choose!   I especially love how the author adds humor for those with wedding woes, with her hilarious “Letter To The Uninvited“.  Just like her book, it’s a must read!  Read, laugh and de-stress by clicking HERE.

intimate-wedding-giveaway1

Now it’s your turn!  Christina Friedrichsen has offered to generously give 4 lucky readers a signed copy of her book…all you have to do is leave a comment within this post with one of the following:

1. Your own creative Letter To The Uninvited.

2. Advice for brides looking to plan an intimate wedding.

3. Your favorite thing about having an intimate wedding.

Only one comment, one entry per person.  Please keep the comments clean and friendly.  Any comment that could be seen as offensive or hurtful to others will not be published and therefore will not count as an entry.  All eligible entries have until March 4, 11:59pm EST to enter.  Winners will be randomly chosen by a number generator at midnight on March 5, 2009 and announced shortly after.  While we would love to include all of our worldwide readers, this contest is open to U.S. and Canada residents only.  Good luck, everyone!!!

Written by Jaime

thUTCp28UTC02bUTCTue, 17 Feb 2009 11:50:30 +0000 11, 2008 at 11:50 am

50 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As I was reading this post, one of my co-workers literally came into work and announced that she is engaged… what a strange coincidence! My advice to brides to create an intimate wedding is to do as my co-worker did. She had kept the impending engagement under wraps (once they had decided to take the next step), but didn’t say anything until she had the ring (today). In the meantime, she organized her wedding, went dress shopping, booked the church, and decided the other details. I think this was a nice way to go about it, since they are keeping it a small, intimate affair. Because the details are already figured out, there’s really no room for “helpful advice” from others as they learn of her engagement (which is well-meaning but can cause additional stress) and the details truly reflect the personalities of her and her fiancee.

    Jaime Wright

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCTue, 17 Feb 2009 14:09:07 +0000 11, 2008 at 2:09 pm

  2. My advice for brides trying to plan a small wedding would be to elope. When you elope you cut your cost dramatically and you can invite just your family and a friend or two. Co-workers who really don’t care about you won’t want to spend the money to fly wherever the wedding is being held. Easy solution!

    Missy

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCTue, 17 Feb 2009 15:42:26 +0000 11, 2008 at 3:42 pm

  3. My advice for brides who want an intimate wedding is to first really consider who you’re inviting to the big day. You should only invite people who you’d actually be upset if they couldn’t come to the celebration. Second, I would tell them to remember to steal intimate moments with your fiance-turned-spouse throughout the day. Take time to have a private moment after the ceremony, pay attention to one another during the first dance, and enjoy the fun together during dinner and the reception instead of simply parting ways to greet guests and dance. If the two of you are having an amazing time together, it will be infectious and your guests will have a great time too!

    Michelle

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCTue, 17 Feb 2009 18:44:21 +0000 11, 2008 at 6:44 pm

  4. We are having to cut our guest list, so I am now planning an intimate wedding. My favorite part about planning a smaller wedding is being able to focus on subtle details. More time and money can be used for special elements, such as individualized favors or gifts, creative guestbooks or games. For example, I am hand-making all of the flowers, using vintage materials and fabrics. Each member of the bridal party will have a customized keepsake boutonniere, corsage or bouquet.

    Toni

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCTue, 17 Feb 2009 20:12:51 +0000 11, 2008 at 8:12 pm

  5. “Dear all of my fourteen aunts and uncles and 20 cousins… Sorry that out of the 60 people I’m inviting to my wedding none of you made it on the list. I know it must suck, but I will never go to any of your kids weddings so why should I have to sacrifice my friends for you? Your wedding present would have sucked anyway so it’s not like I’m missing out.” Love Hummuslover

    hummuslover

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCTue, 17 Feb 2009 20:30:03 +0000 11, 2008 at 8:30 pm

  6. Hi Jaime! How are you my lovely friend?! Even though I’m already married and don’t need a wedding planning book…I still collect a lot of this stuff because as an artist, it’s always GREAT INSPIRATION!

    How cool of you to give this as a gift.

    I got married five years ago (time flies)! Our guest list was getting crazy as we were feeling obligated to invite over 500+ people. Since my husband and I are both entrepreneurs and I was paying for my own wedding (which was my gift to my parents for being so awesome my whole life) – we decided, too, that intimate would be WAY better. AND IT WAS AMAZING.

    We had our wedding in Miami. 50 of our closest friends and family flew in…destination weddings are a sure fire way to make sure only the ones who truly love you are there to celebrate your day. I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

    Plus, I wasn’t consumed with shaking hands with acquaintances and worried about the details that in time will be meaningless. I really had the chance to live in the moment and that was the BEST PART!

    Good luck to all getting married!

    Sugarluxe

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCWed, 18 Feb 2009 05:33:28 +0000 11, 2008 at 5:33 am

  7. my favorite thing about having an intimate wedding is that you can truly take time with all your guests instead of having a large one where u might not even see them at all!

    Nicole

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCWed, 18 Feb 2009 05:49:27 +0000 11, 2008 at 5:49 am

  8. Intimate weddings are truly the way to go! This way you will actually remember who was there and what you did. So often the bride is left with memories of being whisked around while smiling for the picture and has no real memory of the day.
    In our home we always say never invite those you wouldn’t invite to Christmas or your birthday party.

    Martha

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCWed, 18 Feb 2009 06:14:50 +0000 11, 2008 at 6:14 am

  9. As crazy as it may sound, one way to create an intimate wedding is with lighting. By using amber lighting you can create a very warm and intimate atmosphere. The combination of amber lighting and candlelight is so pretty and makes a larger reception seem much much more intimate.

    Rebecca

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCWed, 18 Feb 2009 09:11:04 +0000 11, 2008 at 9:11 am

  10. My advice for keeping a wedding intimate is to not invite anyone that the bride and groom do not know. My fiance and I have used this tactic to keep our guest list small. We don’t want to be introduced to anyone at our wedding!

    Emily

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCWed, 18 Feb 2009 11:26:06 +0000 11, 2008 at 11:26 am

  11. I am planning my wedding right now and my favorite part about keeping it small is that I can make sure to speak with everyone who comes!

    Jamibea

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCWed, 18 Feb 2009 16:49:21 +0000 11, 2008 at 4:49 pm

  12. My favorite thing about intimate weddings is the love you feel in the room. Everyone is there because they are close to the couple and have shared their special moments together as a couple, and get a chance to witness them getting married. I am a huge fan of intimate weddings vs. large weddings…

    Nicole R.

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCWed, 18 Feb 2009 21:19:43 +0000 11, 2008 at 9:19 pm

  13. The best thing about an intimate wedding is that even a small budget seems bigger. $10,000 with 50 guests looks like a lot more than $10,000 with 250 guests!

    Brittany

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCThu, 19 Feb 2009 12:55:35 +0000 11, 2008 at 12:55 pm

  14. My favorite thing about having an intimate wedding is that we will be surrounded by the people we love and care for, and who have been special to us. We will have time to visit with them all, and the dinner and party won’t feel like a show put on in front of a crowd of strangers.

    Anja

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCThu, 19 Feb 2009 16:46:08 +0000 11, 2008 at 4:46 pm

  15. My favorite thing about having an intimate wedding is getting to share my joy with my family and close friends. They have all had a part in the planning process, whether it was helping with a DIY project or just offering moral support when I am sure that I have gone crazy by trying to plan a wedding on a budget!

    Katie

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCFri, 20 Feb 2009 04:56:17 +0000 11, 2008 at 4:56 am

  16. My advice for planning an intimate wedding is to find a way to constantly remind yourself of what you want. I’m finding that so much of the wedding industry and so many of the wedding books are geared toward huge productions — not to mention the fact that I have several friends having big weddings right around mine — that I find myself thinking, “Well, maybe I should just invite an extra 25 people,” or “I guess we could have it in a bigger venue instead of in my parents’ living room, and so forth. Remember what it is you want to do and why you want to do it, and the planning is so much easier!

    Erin S

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCFri, 20 Feb 2009 07:20:47 +0000 11, 2008 at 7:20 am

  17. My favorite things about having an intimate wedding:
    1. Remembering what the food tasted like because I’ll actually be able to eat it.
    2. Enjoying the full weekend with family and friends, not just one night.
    3. Everyone staying on-site – like a summer camp for grown-ups.
    4. Being able to focus on the details rather than being overwhelmed by the magnitude of it all.
    5. Genuinely being thankful for all of my guests.

    MJ

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCFri, 20 Feb 2009 08:31:28 +0000 11, 2008 at 8:31 am

  18. Does a favorite thing about the intimate wedding you WANT count? Because we have a lot of family members and friends who would be devastated if they didn’t get to come, we’ve ended up with a larger wedding that I would have chosen, although we’re trying to keep it small(er). For me, the best thing about having an intimate wedding would be getting to spend quality time with each of our guests, rather than having to just say hi and then rush on to the next set of well-wishers.

    Leika

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCFri, 20 Feb 2009 08:55:24 +0000 11, 2008 at 8:55 am

  19. This would be so helpful in planning my wedding.

    Ashley

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCFri, 20 Feb 2009 08:57:14 +0000 11, 2008 at 8:57 am

  20. There is nothing like having your nearest and dearest with you as you celebrate your union with the love of your life! For #3) Since your guests would know the couple so well, they can share stories of them with one another in a comfortable, intimate setting. Also, the small guest list makes room for personalized favors, menus, etc. at every turn! Each guest will feel important and cherished. Thanks!

    Patty

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCFri, 20 Feb 2009 13:05:51 +0000 11, 2008 at 1:05 pm

  21. my favorite part of planning an intimate wedding is knowing that i won’t have any strangers at my wedding. everyone there will know that they are special to us for being there.

    Jennifer

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCFri, 20 Feb 2009 13:15:38 +0000 11, 2008 at 1:15 pm

  22. Dear Uninvited,

    Matthew and I are getting married! We are really excited, you might not be, since you aren’t going to be allowed to come to the wedding.

    There are a couple of reasons that you didn’t make the cut, and won’t be at our cute small wedding:

    1.Because you don’t know us that well – being Facebook friends doesn’t make you our real friends.

    2. You are technically related, but I can’t remember how, and I have seen you only once,at one family reunion 13 years ago.

    3. You are closely related but only stir up trouble. Your drunken shenanigins or selfish outbursts or ill-mannered dog aren’t invited to the reception. Sorry. Consider it your penance for bad behavior at Uncle Bob’s funeral

    4. You don’t want to come. I know that you would if invited, but really you are glad that I am letting you off the hook. You don’t want to hang out with us and our friends, a group of artists and left leaners when you could be at home watching Bill O’Reilly

    5. You are alergic to cake.

    There are more reasons you aren’t invited, but remember this, it isn’t about YOU, it is about US, and Matthew and I will be there

    Thanks for the gravy boat, though,

    Kari

    Kari Adams

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCFri, 20 Feb 2009 14:43:09 +0000 11, 2008 at 2:43 pm

  23. we’re on a tight budget so we decided to do the divisive ipod wedding. this is how we’re having an intimate wedding because this mode of entertainment lets us: play our favorite music to share with our guests (this is the most important thing to my fiance) and have our friends be a part of the wedding (a friend of mine is lending us his PA system, my brother in law kindly offered to be MC and the best part of all is that on our invitations we’re asking people to put their favorite songs to include on our guest lists).

    chicago bride

    stUTCp28UTC02bUTCSat, 21 Feb 2009 10:35:46 +0000 11, 2008 at 10:35 am

  24. We’re planning an intimate wedding. My favorite thing about it is knowing that everyone there will be someone very special to us.

    Laurel

    stUTCp28UTC02bUTCSat, 21 Feb 2009 15:17:48 +0000 11, 2008 at 3:17 pm

  25. We are having our wedding in the backyard of our newly purchased home. We are using the money we would have spent on a venue, in our backyard! I love that we are going to have such a special memory of our first home. I love the simplicity of a small intimate wedding. “Love” is the focal point, not the “show”.

    Dani

    ndUTCp28UTC02bUTCSun, 22 Feb 2009 01:23:03 +0000 11, 2008 at 1:23 am

  26. My fiance’ and I are in the midst of planning an intimate wedding. (I love that the title is ‘Intimate’ & not ‘Small’…) I’ve received a lot of advice from family over the past couple of months, but their advice always pertained to bigger, over-the-top weddings, and really didn’t apply to ours. Because of this, others have gotten upset because I’m not ‘going with tradition’ and all. I think in spite of this, I’ve come up with my own piece of advice for couples planning their intimate wedding:
    -Graciously do you.
    What I mean to say is personalize the crap out of it, make it *your special day* and graciously ignore what others have to say!! 🙂

    Jerri

    ndUTCp28UTC02bUTCSun, 22 Feb 2009 15:23:47 +0000 11, 2008 at 3:23 pm

  27. When we first decided to get married I was really excited to have a big dream wedding. Then when I started thinking through all the details, budget and guest list were, of course, two top considerations. My love is a quiet man (not a silent man) and over the past year I have come to want that “quiet-ness” reflected in our wedding ceremony. Now I want a small intimate dream wedding, for the two of us. I want to be able to take in every moment, dance with him, sing quietly in his ear, and feel the warmth of his love around me. I don’t need 200 guests to achieve that.

    ChefBliss

    rdUTCp28UTC02bUTCMon, 23 Feb 2009 05:58:04 +0000 11, 2008 at 5:58 am

  28. My favorite thing about having an intimate wedding is that it allowed us to decide not to have a bridal party. We feel that the people we have invited are such close family and friends that any one of them could stand up for us on our special day. I hope that within the small and intimate setting we can create something special to let them know how important they have all been and will hopefully continue to be to our relationship.

    Kristi

    rdUTCp28UTC02bUTCMon, 23 Feb 2009 13:59:00 +0000 11, 2008 at 1:59 pm

  29. an intimate wedding will allow the focus to really be on love– both between the bride and groom, plus the friends and family who are able to join them on their special day. I think it makes the wedding more about the marriage and commitment, allowing people to focus on the relationships that really matter.

    RenaissanceTrophyWife

    rdUTCp28UTC02bUTCMon, 23 Feb 2009 16:04:52 +0000 11, 2008 at 4:04 pm

  30. My favorite thing about having an intimate wedding it that you can relax enjoy your day and really make it about you and your love. You have your very best friends and family around and you just have a wonderful, relaxed, carefree time. I also find that intimate weddings often have the most wonderful photo ops.

    Vicki

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCWed, 25 Feb 2009 12:25:01 +0000 11, 2008 at 12:25 pm

  31. My favorite thing about the intimate wedding that I’m planning is that it gives my fiance and I the chance to spend some real quality time enjoying that day with the people closest to us (family and a few close friends). Rather than having to flit from table to table, saying hi to people we’ve never met, we can take time to really enjoy everyone’s company and genuinely thank them for coming.

    stealthnerd

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCWed, 25 Feb 2009 14:26:34 +0000 11, 2008 at 2:26 pm

  32. Dear Uninvited Guest,
    It’s true. David and I are getting married, and you are NOT invited. I said it. NOT. Sadly, just because I knew you twenty years ago, does not mean that I care if you are there to view my sacred vows. I moved, you quit talking, and I don’t want to see you ever again.

    For the others that YOU have invited to come with you… why do they want to view the wedding of a stranger? They won’t be bringing a guest, so I will not be buying their dinner. Instead, you can simply send me the $5 check for the difference in what you were going to give me and what the dinners would have cost.

    In closing, I hope that you will not view this as an acknowledgment that I want you to share my special day. I do not want you in the same state as my happiness, because you simply bring me down.

    Have a nice life away from me!

    Christy

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCThu, 26 Feb 2009 20:16:22 +0000 11, 2008 at 8:16 pm

  33. OOOO…what a great giveaway! 🙂

    The thing I love most about planning an intimate wedding–EVERY day I am excited about this day as it approaches. There is no other day that I have ever or will ever look forward to this much. My closest and most favorite people will be there. The focus will be on me and the man I have waited to find and marry. I will be filled with joy and surrounded by love with the people who have gathered around to celebrate this joyous day. I think about it everyday and look forward to it constantly. I would LOVE this book for more advice and thoughts and ideas! :

    Amy Lynch

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCFri, 27 Feb 2009 21:32:23 +0000 11, 2008 at 9:32 pm

  34. Advice: Since you are having an intimate wedding, you can focus on the little details. Maybe at the end of the night, when everyone is tired from dancing, bring out little trays of coffee and mini donuts for a quick pick me up. Or offer have cozy little conversation nooks with loungy chairs to help spark some good conversations. Whatever you do, remember your friends are your guests and treat as such!

    Alysia

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCSat, 28 Feb 2009 10:47:56 +0000 11, 2008 at 10:47 am

  35. Genuine smiles from people you love and laughter with people that know the ‘insider-jokes’. These are things that I love about intimate weddings.

    Michelle Anderson

    thUTCp28UTC02bUTCSat, 28 Feb 2009 17:30:27 +0000 11, 2008 at 5:30 pm

  36. The reason why I want an intimate wedding is because it won’t be as stressful as a huge overdone wedding. Plus it isn’t our style. We would love to have an intimate wedding outside in the mtns. Intimate enough where we can be ourselves and act silly not caring that our family is watching us because they would also be laughing and being silly.

    Megs

    rdUTCp31UTC03bUTCTue, 03 Mar 2009 13:18:28 +0000 11, 2008 at 1:18 pm

  37. I’m just getting started with the planning, but my ultimate all-time favorite thing about planning this intimate celebration is that because I know everyone personally I don’t have to worry if I trip and fall on my face or if something really goes horrible wrong. I’m (actually we, my fiance tripped and fell on our first date *swoon*) rather accident prone so falling on my face is a high probability.

    Amanda

    rdUTCp31UTC03bUTCTue, 03 Mar 2009 13:42:24 +0000 11, 2008 at 1:42 pm

  38. Hi,

    My favourite thing about having an intimate wedding is that i will know every single person there and even more than that i will want them there and be so greatful when they show up.

    They will be the people who have an impact everyday in my life and my wedding will be all the more special.

    Alex

    Alex

    rdUTCp31UTC03bUTCTue, 03 Mar 2009 16:56:20 +0000 11, 2008 at 4:56 pm

  39. My fiance and I are planning a small wedding with 22 people near his parents in Orlando. We originally planned it this way because I have a huge family that I’m close to in Minnesota, and his family is all over the country and he’s only met them all a few times in his life–he didn’t want the bride’s side and the groom’s side to be so unbalanced. The more we get into planning, the more I realize how at ease I am about our wedding and how great it will be to share it with the people that are a part of our daily lives (not people we see once a year or two). All of the details of colors, favors, music, dresses, etc. fade into the background as I think about the important part: our words of commitment to each other at the ceremony. Having just our close friends and family there will make us feel comfortable to be completely open in the vows that we say to each other, and that everyone there knows us well enough to keep us accountable to them. I don’t plan on being stressed out on my wedding day!! (And we’ll still throw a party later for everyone!)

    Elena

    rdUTCp31UTC03bUTCTue, 03 Mar 2009 17:35:34 +0000 11, 2008 at 5:35 pm

  40. I knew as soon as he got down on one knee that I wanted a really, really small wedding. My favorite part about small, intimate weddings is that you can literally feel the love between everyone. We are both so close with our parents and that’s why we’re taking them and only them with us for our destination wedding. I think a wedding is the marrying not only of two people but of two families. Both of us are kind of shy and wouldn’t feel comfortable writing our own vows and reciting them in front of a huge group of people. This gives us the opportunity to speak from the heart without all the jitters. I’m excited for my wedding for all the right reasons. Not centerpieces, not napkins, but love. Just love. 🙂

    Britney

    rdUTCp31UTC03bUTCTue, 03 Mar 2009 19:10:06 +0000 11, 2008 at 7:10 pm

  41. Dear Crazy College Friends, Never talk to unless some one is pregnant Sorority Sisters, Insane Family Members who would torment my future in laws, & people who I don’t know your last names:

    First off, I should say long time no see! or talk for that matter…. As you probably heard (or seen on facebook) we have set a date to get married. Before you mark the date out on your calendar, you should know one thing : you’re not invited.
    We are planning a wonderful intimate gathering for this fall. We, unlike some of you, have chosen to go the economical route with our wedding. Sure we have tons of friends who we haven’t seen in years, but we are paying for our wedding and really only want those near and dear to us there. Does that hurt your feelings? Sorry, if it does, but maybe you should have thought about that before you gave me the run down the last time I saw you. As much as we’d appreciated the snide comments about us living together before marriage and unsolicited advice on how to plan our lives, we would like to keep our wedding drama free.
    So please enjoy your last weekend in September however you’d like! Feel free to send us happy thoughts (from a distance).
    Much love,
    Elle & Ian

    ellekay3280

    rdUTCp31UTC03bUTCTue, 03 Mar 2009 20:04:45 +0000 11, 2008 at 8:04 pm

  42. My favorite things about having an intimate wedding are: having it in our backyard, not having a wedding party, planning a mid-reception “nap,” & planning bocce & lawn games for the reception!

    Liz

    rdUTCp31UTC03bUTCTue, 03 Mar 2009 21:58:39 +0000 11, 2008 at 9:58 pm

  43. Dear Family Who Never Paid Me Any Attention,

    I am getting married in June and you are not invited. You are not invited because over the course of over 20-years, I have seen you maybe a handful of times. You have forgotten my birthdays. You ignored me at Christmas. The only time you even called was when grandpa lived with us and my mother was taking care of both him and my mentally and physically handicapped uncle – nevermind he has four other siblings who could have helped – and then it was to ask for money. Why did you stop calling when grandpa died? We all know why.

    Where were you when my mother – your sister, aunt, cousin and even mother! – was in and out of the hospital 3 times last year?

    Where were you when I lost my job and had to quit college (ten credits shy of my degree!) because I was bitten by a tick and an endless stream of just plain dumb and/or stubborn doctors never properly diagnoised me so my condition became worse and worse as the Lyme burrowed into all my organs and nervous system? Why don’t you care I’m still sick and disabled?

    I’ve been engaged nearly 3-years. Three long years while mother sickened. Three long years while I sickened and worsened without any help or answers. For those years, my fiance, Scott, and I hoped I’d get better and he’d get a better job and we could have a nice wedding.

    Now we know a nice wedding is a small wedding without you. You weren’t there all these past years when my family needed you the most so we are making sure you won’t be here when we don’t need you by not inviting you. And we know you’d show up. You’d sleep for free in our house and eat our food and dance and smoke and drink, drink, drink, and probably not even give us a gift.

    And as for Scott’s family, you are not invited at all while at least my parents and a few aunts and siblings made the cut on my side. You know why you are not invited. Scott has never felt loved by you. You cried when he announced he was going to marry me. When the doctors thought you, his mother, had Lyme, you never once called me or text messaged me back when I gave you so much critical, vital information only the veterans on the Lyme front have. You have Lyme. I’d bet my soul on it. I’d kill for your classic signs. But because you listened to a doctor with the typical stream of misinformation and substandard tests instead of my help of literature and doctors who know what they are dealing with and how to fight it, you lost me as your son’s advocate.

    We are very happy. It is going to be small. It is going to take place over three-days and all guests have room and food for free at an historic inn. It’s a shame you never cared enough when things weren’t free, otherwise you’d be enjoying the day, too.

    weekendwedding

    thUTCp31UTC03bUTCWed, 04 Mar 2009 00:24:15 +0000 11, 2008 at 12:24 am

  44. My favorite thing about an intimate wedding is that you get to spend time with everyone. We’re planning a weekend retreat with 25 of our friends and family, and holding lots of smaller events so everyone can relax.

    Jessica

    thUTCp31UTC03bUTCWed, 04 Mar 2009 07:01:21 +0000 11, 2008 at 7:01 am

  45. My favorite thing about having an intimate wedding is that you really have to think about who is important in your life. Some friends may trump family. After all, we choose our friends, but not our families.

    Quick Lunar Cop

    thUTCp31UTC03bUTCWed, 04 Mar 2009 07:49:08 +0000 11, 2008 at 7:49 am

  46. I’m newly engaged and just getting started with the research and planning process. I’ve been reading your Intimate Wedding blog daily and am really enjoying it. Thanks for giving us all a chance to win your book!

    Beth B

    thUTCp31UTC03bUTCWed, 04 Mar 2009 10:49:36 +0000 11, 2008 at 10:49 am

  47. Thank you so much for entering, everyone! The giveaway is now closed.

    You all gave wonderful advice and ideas, I hope you found it helpful for planning your own intimate weddings!

    I will be picking 4 random winners tonight and we will announce them this week. For now, be sure to visit http://www.intimateweddings.com for more helpful tips on planning your intimate wedding. Cheers!

    Sincerely,
    Jaime 🙂

    Jaime

    thUTCp31UTC03bUTCThu, 05 Mar 2009 11:14:08 +0000 11, 2008 at 11:14 am

  48. […] I’m happy to announce the 4 winners of the Intimate Weddings Giveaway! […]

    Intimate Weddings Book Giveaway ~ The Winners! « IT’S A JAIME THING…

    thUTCp31UTC03bUTCTue, 10 Mar 2009 16:44:24 +0000 11, 2008 at 4:44 pm

  49. I eloped 4 years ago and I still LOVE that my husband have our own private memories of OUR day. Next year we’re renewing our vows in a small ceremony to celebrate 5 years of marriage.

    My advice to new brides is to put yourself first. The favors, decorations, flowers are all nonsense. At the end of the day you want to be able to remember your day, and be surrounded by people that you would truly miss if they weren’t invited.

    Kenya Bevans

    ndUTCp30UTC04bUTCWed, 22 Apr 2009 18:59:37 +0000 11, 2008 at 6:59 pm

  50. The best thing about having a private intimate wedding is the closeness + less stress about the whole event. You can really enjoy the wedding and the guests because it’s small enough to do that.

    scoomer

    thUTCp30UTC04bUTCSun, 26 Apr 2009 08:42:05 +0000 11, 2008 at 8:42 am


Leave a Reply

