IT’S A JAIME THING…

Wedding inspiration, ideas and all things creative!

Let’s Dance A Lil’ Timbaland & Frank Sinatra…

with 6 comments

…Shall We?

You’ve seen them before, I’m sure.  Couples and wedding parties everywhere are giving into the trend of putting on a dance skit instead of the traditional first dance.  Well darlings, I’ve seen many cool dances, but this one I found at the Heidzillas blog might just top the cake!  Take a look…

Timbaland ~ The Way I Are:

I’m wondering, are you planning this too?  If so, are you hiring a dance choreographer or creating the moves yourself?  Maybe you’re sticking to the traditional first dance.  That’s cool too!  I have to admit, while I love watching the dances couples are coming up with, I’m a sappy fool for that first dance and the spotlight it gives the couple, like in this video…how elegant!

Frank Sinatra ~ Come Fly With Me:

Haven’t put much thought into it?  Relax.  You don’t need lessons.  Why not save your money for something else?  During our first dance, my husband and I talked, smiled and gave each other lots of little kisses.  Hey, we were in the moment, what can I say?  While we didn’t plan our first dance, it’s one I’ll never forget…and hopefully you’ll always look back and remember yours too.  Cheers!

Written by Jaime

thUTCp31UTC01bUTCSun, 25 Jan 2009 21:36:16 +0000 11, 2008 at 9:36 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The elegant first dance will always be adored but my personality loves when brides opt for a dance skit. So much fun!!!

    Brandi of Glitz & Glamour Events

    thUTCp31UTC01bUTCMon, 26 Jan 2009 06:15:26 +0000 11, 2008 at 6:15 am

  2. The first one was interesting, but the second one is my favorite. You gotta love those dances that bring you back to the amazing days of Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers.

    Christine

    thUTCp31UTC01bUTCMon, 26 Jan 2009 10:07:02 +0000 11, 2008 at 10:07 am

  3. I can’t decide if the first video, with the group skit is fun or just incredibly self-indulgent. Either way, it’s their day so I guess self-indulgence is ok. I absolutely LOVE the 2nd video. I so wanted to do something like that at our wedding but hubby wouldn’t take dance lessons with me. We ended up awkwardly pretending we knew what we were doing and wondering when the torture would end!

    So Much More Than A Mom

    thUTCp31UTC01bUTCMon, 26 Jan 2009 10:08:03 +0000 11, 2008 at 10:08 am

  4. Hey Jaime! I vote for number two but that is because it would take a whole lot more than a few dance lessons for me to dance like the dance group. I think couples should move and grove in the way the feel most comfortable. xo

    christine@wishpot

    thUTCp31UTC01bUTCMon, 26 Jan 2009 21:27:03 +0000 11, 2008 at 9:27 pm

  5. I am doing a ‘Rock the Reception’ dance. It will be mainly the girls. The guys will serve as PROPS. I love, love Beyonce, so the music will be a mix of some of my favorite B songs. No need to hire anyone. My Maids and I can all dance. I have choreographed plenty of numbers in my lifetime thanks to my numerous high school dance courses.

    Classic dances are great, but I’ll have other events to dance with that kind of elegance. We are entertainers, so this dance skit is inevitable.

    Keonte'

    thUTCp31UTC01bUTCFri, 30 Jan 2009 09:19:20 +0000 11, 2008 at 9:19 am

  6. I totally would have done that if we had a big wedding!!!

    Child Care Fairy

    ndUTCp28UTC02bUTCMon, 02 Feb 2009 14:28:34 +0000 11, 2008 at 2:28 pm


Leave a Reply

