IT’S A JAIME THING…

Wedding inspiration, ideas and all things creative!

Your Grandmother’s Wedding Dress…

with 5 comments

…Created Into Your Own!

This bride’s gown was made from her grandmother’s wedding dress…it’s so beautiful!  The layers, the details…I just can’t stop looking at these  pictures taken by Chicago photographer Jon Shaft.  If you get the chance, be sure to check out both of his sites, including this one.  He takes such amazing, artistic photos!

jonshaftweddingsdotcom2

Beautiful dress, beautiful couple!

jonshaftweddingsdotcom3

Have any of you used material from the wedding gown of someone you love in your family, to add to your dress?  Or, perhaps you’re wearing their actual dress.  I love the idea of this tradition, passing the dress down from generation to generation…though I realize it’s not always possible.  So the next best thing is adding material from it, right?  

Would you be able to take away pieces from someone else’s dress or would you feel bad ruining it, even if it was done out of love?  I’m torn on this one.  I’d love to hear your thoughts, so please comment away!

Written by Jaime

thUTCp31UTC12bUTCSat, 20 Dec 2008 11:33:39 +0000 11, 2008 at 11:33 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are right! That is a beautiful wedding gown.

    When I was pregnant, I gave my wedding gown to a seamstress friend and she created the most beautiful christening gown for my son. My hope is that his children (and grandchildren) will wear it at their baptisms too.

    Great post!

    Love & Soul Always, Kay

    Kawania @ Howerton+Wooten Events

    thUTCp31UTC12bUTCSat, 20 Dec 2008 13:21:29 +0000 11, 2008 at 1:21 pm

  2. Kay,

    That is a great idea…was it hard for you to part with your dress, though? I’m such a sentimental sucker, I know that I’ll never be able to wear my wedding dress again, but if it were up to me I’d find a way to wear it everyday! Ha ha!

    Thanks for reading,
    Jaime 🙂

    Jaime

    thUTCp31UTC12bUTCSat, 20 Dec 2008 13:36:54 +0000 11, 2008 at 1:36 pm

  3. beautiful! i have no idea what to do with my gown. hopefully my grandkids will still think it’s hip in 50 years.

    perfect bound

    rdUTCp31UTC12bUTCTue, 23 Dec 2008 12:55:38 +0000 11, 2008 at 12:55 pm

  4. Not really. I was never a huge fan of my wedding dress. But I absolutely love what it has become now. I also made hankies for my nieces — I will give one to each of them at their bridal shower some day.

    Kawania @ Howerton+Wooten Events

    thUTCp31UTC12bUTCFri, 26 Dec 2008 19:25:47 +0000 11, 2008 at 7:25 pm

  5. reminds me of the movie 24 dresses. hehe. the younger sister tore apart their mom’s wedding dress. if it were me, i think i’ll feel bad ruining the dress :((

    Jan

    thUTCp31UTC01bUTCSun, 04 Jan 2009 19:15:03 +0000 11, 2008 at 7:15 pm


Leave a Reply

