IT’S A JAIME THING…

Wedding inspiration, ideas and all things creative!

This Weekend’s Halloween Birthday Bash…

with one comment

…It Was Pretty Scary!

One of my very best friends was turning thirtytwenty-ten” years old this weekend.  Her husband had asked a few of us help him throw a surprise birthday Halloween party for her and we were happy to do it!

We decided to work around a skull and bone theme.  These pictures don’t do their justice since they were taken before the party, during the day.  So please try to imagine it at night, with a strobe light, candles, strung skull lights, black lights everywhere and a little bit of dimmed lighting.  It was cool!

We had put tons of webbing all over the shelves, windows and some other places here and there.  We cut swirlies out of construction paper and hung them from the ceilings.  After purchasing a variety of tombstones and skulls, we decided to decorate them girly since it was her birthday, so we did so by using hot pink rhinestones!

 

Bones were layed out under the webbing,  and the walls were decorated with different skulls we’d found, along with some great skull garland and skull banners.  We found these really cool Halloween bottle labels to cover the bottles on the bar we set up.  The bar was covered with rhinestone skull fabric we had picked up.  A silver skull punch bowl was turned into an ice bucket and drinks were served with eyeball straws!  Freaked me out, man.

The Gang…

 At some point, everyone watched the picture montage video we had made for her and her husband for their wedding.  It showed pictures (set to music) from when she was younger, up to this year.  It was so nice to see it added as a special little touch to her birthday.   

I think everyone ended up having a great time.  To my surprise, I’m happy to say  the birthday girl really was surprised when she walked in!  Another party, another success.  Now that they’re stuck with all of these Halloween decorations (ha, ha!), we’ve informed her and her husband that they’ll have to make this a new yearly tradition…only next time, I’m eating more cake!

Do you see me in the picture above?  Hard to tell what I’m wearing, so I’ll tell you.  I ran out of time so I had to think fast for my costume!  Last minute, I decided to attempt to be a runway model.  Hardee har har, right?  Well, you know the kind of runway model I’m talking about…the kind with the wild crazy hair and clothes that no normal person would ever be caught dead in? 

I put on an old bridesmaid dress, topped it with some ugly lace thing and a belt with horrid shoes, then I put on some really dark eye makeup and ratted my hair on top of my head as much as I could…as high as I could!  I hairsprayed the heck out of it.  It definitely looked awesome, but it started to fall mid-party…thank goodness for hairpins.  I wish I could show you the hair better…it was my favorite part about the costume. 

Hope you all had a great Halloween!  Did you do something fun?  Share with us by commenting away – we’d love to hear about it.  Cheers!

Written by Jaime

ndUTCp30UTC11bUTCSun, 02 Nov 2008 11:51:39 +0000 11, 2008 at 11:51 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So nice to see people having fun. We don’t have Halloween so we miss out.

    Carol

    ndUTCp30UTC11bUTCSun, 02 Nov 2008 13:45:35 +0000 11, 2008 at 1:45 pm


Leave a Reply

