IT’S A JAIME THING…

Wedding inspiration, ideas and all things creative!

Designer Interview Part One: Amy Snider of “Every Little Counts”!

with 4 comments

Last month, I featured new fashion designer, Amy Snider, of Every Little Counts and her fabulous collection of stylish tees.  I was so excited that Amy allowed me to interview her, and now I’m happy to share it with you!  If you’ve ever dreamed of becoming a fashion designer or wonder what it takes, read below to see how Amy achieved her success.  See how she was inspired, how she started, and what makes her line so very, very fabulous!

How did you decide to become a fashion designer?
I’ve known for a pretty long time this is what I wanted to do.  In elementary school I bought this book about sketching for fashion design.  That book, combined with hours spent getting inspired while watching old movies with my mom really did it for me.  I have sketchbooks going all the way back to maybe 3rd or 4th grade.

How long did it take for you before you opened up shop?
I had spent 6 years working in both NYC and LA as a designer.  I had always wanted to start my own business, so when the company I was working for closed, I was actually ecstatic.  There is nothing worse than working for someone else, creating a product you don’t believe in.  I gained a lot of experience over the years, working for other small businesses, so I thought there is no better time to do this.

Who is your role model?
I would have to say  Diane Von Furstenberg.  At 61, she looks amazing!  More than that…she is iconic.  She understands women and she celebrates women.  She makes clothes that appeal to women of all ages.  She has an amazing business sense.  She is in touch with the world and she loves nature and family.

How do you find inspiration for your designs?
Film- mostly from the 60’s and 70’s and mostly foreign, love, literature, coming of age, music, everything French!  I have been collecting photos, quotes, and memories since I was in high school.  We get a lot of ideas from the journals and sketchbooks I have kept over the years, which also contributes to the “coming- of- age” theme that lingers throughout each collection.

What is a typical work day for you like?
I spend more time than I would like on the computer!  A lot of time is spent writing and responding to emails- to and from customers, buyers, editors, and bloggers. Promoting the label is a never ending process- updating our blog, Myspace, Facebook, etc.  From there, the day is broken up into working on new designs, printing inventory, and shipping orders.

What is in store for Every Little Counts?  Any future plans?  Our main goal is to work on brand recognition for Every Little Counts…we have a lot more love to share!  I would also love to work on more limited edition and one-of-a-kind pieces.

Who are your favorite fashion designers?
A.P.C. ,Mociun, Lorick, Lyell, Lover the label, Lanvin – but it can all be a little overwhelming.  There are so many designers, so many fashion weeks.  I don’t have the time that I used to to keep up with it all!

What do you think the hottest trends in fashion are right now?
I don’t really follow the trends.  I’m an emotional dresser…I like to dress in a way that connects me to the past.  Right now I am still obsessing over the 70’s and early 80’s: Ali MacGraw, Bo Derek, Lauren Hutton…and especially my mom!

What advice do you have for others looking to become a fashion designer?  Any secrets?
Study!  Go to school – learn and absorb everything.  Be competitive.  Stay focused.  Develop your own point of view.  Experience is essential.  Get into the industry.  Make contacts.  Stay inspired.  Don’t give up.  Don’t settle into a job you despise.

When designing your line, what do you keep in mind?  What’s important to you?
First, we reconnect with our influences by going through movies, books, magazines and looking at pictures.  Phrases and ideas start to bounce back and forth, and notebooks fill up.  We try to maintain a personal feel, and a very specific sense of humor and pop culture references.  We try to keep everything a little unexpected, and we really pay attention to silhouette and quality.

Do you wear your own designs?
Yes!

What are your goals as a fashion designer?
Eventually I would love to expand and develop a full collection.  But one thing at a time!

Thanks for taking the time to do this interview, Amy!  Be sure to check out her blog to see even more of her design inspiration.  As I said last month, these designer tees would make great gifts for anyone, especially bridal party members!  If you love them as much as I do, head on over to  Every Little Counts now and grab one (or two or three or four…) – they’re stylish, affordable and oh so fun!

Also, check back soon for Part Two of my interview with Amy, where we get to learn all about her gorgeous wedding details & see her fabulous wedding pictures.  You guessed it, she designed her very own beautiful wedding dress.  She’s one talented lady!

Update! – 11/5/08:  Interested in showing your bridesmaids some love?  I’ve got more exciting news for you – Amy is willing to give my readers an EXCLUSIVE DISCOUNT for ORDERS OF 6 OR MORE!  All you need to do is send her an email at: amy{at}everylittlecounts{dot}net, and she’ll give you details on how to use your discount.  Cheers!

Written by Jaime

thUTCp31UTC10bUTCWed, 29 Oct 2008 22:29:29 +0000 11, 2008 at 10:29 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I cant wait to see Amy’s wedding dress!!! 🙂

    Bridal Inquirer

    thUTCp31UTC10bUTCWed, 29 Oct 2008 22:43:35 +0000 11, 2008 at 10:43 pm

  2. Oh I know, I can’t wait to share it with you! 🙂 It’s beautiful…as was everything about her wedding. Soon, soon, I promise! 🙂 Thanks for reading –

    Cheers,
    Jaime 🙂

    Jaime

    thUTCp31UTC10bUTCWed, 29 Oct 2008 22:52:37 +0000 11, 2008 at 10:52 pm

  3. that white shirt is freaking fabulous!

    ExMi

    thUTCp31UTC10bUTCThu, 30 Oct 2008 03:04:42 +0000 11, 2008 at 3:04 am

  4. […] a comment » Yesterday, I featured the first part of my interview with Amy Snider, fashion designer behind Every Little Counts.  Today, as promised, I’m […]


Leave a Reply

