IT’S A JAIME THING…

Wedding inspiration, ideas and all things creative!

Why Marriage?

with 4 comments

…We Thought It Was Important To Display This Poem At Our Wedding.

There is a poem out there called “Why Marriage” by Mari Nichols-Haining.  At the end of the day, this poem explains the perfect reasons for getting married – reasons which my husband and I both feel are wonderful, reasons we feel really apply to us. 

So, for our wedding, I typed out the poem and framed it, then placed it on our guest book table so guests could read and know that we were, indeed, getting married for all the right reasons.  Here’s what it looked like:

Even after our wedding, we still display this poem in our home.  If you love this poem as much as I do, and want to use it for your wedding, go right ahead!  Here’s what it actually reads:

 Because to the depths of me, I long to love one person,
With all my heart, my soul, my mind, my body…

Because I need a forever friend to trust with the intimacies of me,
Who won’t hold them against me,
Who loves me when I’m unlikable,
Who sees the small child in me, and
Who looks for the divine potential of me…

Because I need to cuddle in the warmth of the night
With someone who thanks God for me,
With someone I feel blessed to hold…

Because marriage means opportunity
To grow in love in friendship…

Because marriage is a discipline
To be added to a list of achievements…

Because marriages do not fail, people fail
When they enter into marriage
Expecting another to make them whole…

Because, knowing this,
I promise myself to take full responsibility
For my spiritual, mental and physical wholeness
I create me,
I take half of the responsibility for my marriage
Together we create our marriage…

Because with this understanding
The possibilities are limitless.

 Wishing you all the blessings for a long, happy and healthy life together! – Jaime

Written by Jaime

rdUTCp31UTC10bUTCFri, 03 Oct 2008 04:36:47 +0000 11, 2008 at 4:36 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. aww, i really wanted to read the writing but each time i click on the link it brings me to my own wordpress admin page. any way you can send it?

    notsojenny

    rdUTCp31UTC10bUTCFri, 03 Oct 2008 07:22:18 +0000 11, 2008 at 7:22 am

  2. I actually used that poem in a post a while ago!
    http://barefootstargazer.blogspot.com/2008/08/why-marriage.html
    As much as I love it, it never occurred to me to use it at the wedding. Though now i’m kinda leaning towards it as a reading…hmmm… Thanks!

    Starry-Eyed Barefoot Bride

    rdUTCp31UTC10bUTCFri, 03 Oct 2008 08:46:00 +0000 11, 2008 at 8:46 am

  3. notsojenny, I’m sorry – I don’t know why that happened – I went ahead and displayed the entire poem instead for you. 🙂

    starry-eyed barefoot bride, we are too alike! I think this would make a great reading for your wedding – we thought of using it at our wedding, however since we were having the traditional Catholic ceremony we were unable to.

    It is a beautiful poem, a very smart poem – I love it!

    Jaime

    rdUTCp31UTC10bUTCFri, 03 Oct 2008 11:19:01 +0000 11, 2008 at 11:19 am

  4. Oh girl – that is SO BEAUTIFUL! Thanks for sharing it. I’ve added it to my list of possible ceremony inclusions, and love your framed poem idea. Thanks!

    Broke-Ass Bride

    thUTCp31UTC10bUTCWed, 08 Oct 2008 17:58:56 +0000 11, 2008 at 5:58 pm


Leave a Reply

