IT’S A JAIME THING…

Wedding inspiration, ideas and all things creative!

Goodbye Spider, Hello Brides Magazine…

with 6 comments

…Modern Bride Magazine Not Only Inspires, It Kills Spiders TOO!

I need to vent.  If there is one thing I can’t stand in this world, it’s spiders.  Tonight, while trying to create some nice blog posts for you dear readers, a big scary spider just ran across my kitchen floor and majorly creeped me out!  Rude spider.  Rude!

We don’t often get too many “scaries”, as I call them, in our house.  If we do, my cat normally stalks and kills them for me.  Not this one.  No, this “scary” was even too big for her! 

Usually, my husband would come to my rescue, but he was sleeping and I really didn’t want to wake him.  So, after screaming and freaking out and standing on top of my kitchen chair, Modern Bride came to my rescue instead.  With it, I killed the sucker myself.  Ew.

I know, how could I use such a valuable thing, right?  I’m sorry, I had to grab what was closest to me to kill it and sadly but truly, it was my favorite bridal magazine.  Now I’ll have to throw it away, as there are gross spider guts on the back.  Ew, ew, ew. 

However, there is good news!  Since I was so brave and killed the spider myself, with the help of Modern Bride Magazine, I can now reward myself with the latest issue of Brides Magazine.  That’s right, this time my guilty pleasure doesn’t have to come with guilt.  Do not fear, a new bridal magazine issue is near!

Ladies, if you’re obsessed with bridal magazines like I am, here’s yet another reason to have them around the house.  When your man tells you that you have too many, just smile and say, “yes dear, but they kill spiders for me so I don’t have to wake you up in the middle of the night”.  He’ll never question you again. 

If you haven’t yet received in the mail your latest issue of Modern Bride, Brides or Elegant Bride,  check out the Wedded Bits Blog by Brides.com while you’re patiently waiting.  Thanks for listening to me vent, and thanks to the peeps over at Modern Bride, without your magazine by my side, I could have been up on that chair all night, with the spider taking full control over my kitchen floor.  Happy planning!

-Jaime

Written by Jaime

thUTCp30UTC09bUTCMon, 08 Sep 2008 15:30:21 +0000 11, 2008 at 3:30 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jaime, you are hilarious! I will definitely be using this technique in the future… 🙂

    DomestiGal Jen

    thUTCp30UTC09bUTCMon, 08 Sep 2008 18:01:09 +0000 11, 2008 at 6:01 pm

  2. Eew! I hate spiders too!

    Tara

    thUTCp30UTC09bUTCMon, 08 Sep 2008 20:32:19 +0000 11, 2008 at 8:32 pm

  3. haha – Its re-purposing – kind of like recycling! =)
    You will probably get a kick out of this as a MB reader. I might be in the next issue!!
    http://barefootstargazer.blogspot.com/2008/09/its-whiskey-tango-foxtrot-kind-of-day_03.html
    It would probably be a blurb at best, but still!! You can point and say – She stalks my blog!! 🙂

    Starry-Eyed Barefoot Bride

    thUTCp30UTC09bUTCMon, 08 Sep 2008 22:05:12 +0000 11, 2008 at 10:05 pm

  4. Hahaha omg you are too funny. This whole post sounds like me!

    amanda b. young

    thUTCp30UTC09bUTCTue, 09 Sep 2008 07:07:50 +0000 11, 2008 at 7:07 am

  5. UPDATE:

    This has got to be a joke…would you believe the same thing happened to me tonight, AGAIN? Only this time it was a much smaller spider, thank goodness – and this time I killed it with my Chicago Style Weddings Magazine…lol.

    It must be due to the cold, rainy weather we’ve been having the past few days – fall is here, and now the spiders want to come inside where it’s warm. Is it silly to call an exterminator over 2 spiders? lol Hopefully there are not anymore around, but I just don’t think I could handle the sight of a third one.

    Jaime

    thUTCp30UTC09bUTCTue, 09 Sep 2008 11:14:01 +0000 11, 2008 at 11:14 am

  6. My fiance (and now my MOH has jumped on the bandwagon) has told me that I have too many bride magazines 😦 I realized it was true after I discovered that I bought two different magazines two times each!!!!!! I thought I was loosing my mind seeing the same pictures and reading the same articles.

    For the past 3 weeks I haven’t bought a single one…but I am getting antsy waiting for my new Brides to come in the mail; therefore, I’ve decided to subscribe to every wedding blog and website I can find. So………thank you for existing Jaime!

    DetailedBride

    thUTCp30UTC09bUTCWed, 10 Sep 2008 01:04:00 +0000 11, 2008 at 1:04 am


Leave a Reply

