IT’S A JAIME THING…

Wedding inspiration, ideas and all things creative!

Trash the Dress

with 5 comments

 

If the idea of trashing your wedding dress makes you shiver, then you may want to look away.  If it sounds liberating to you, then read on!

Why?  Why not?  You’ve made a commitment to your husband.  He’s your one and only true love, right?  Then you’ll never need the dress again.  And no, your daughter won’t wear it in 20-30 years.”trashthedress.com 

That’s the idea behind the ‘Trash the Dress’ concept.  It doesn’t have to be radical!  It’s more about letting your hair down, just being yourself.  If the dress gets a little dirty or wet in the process, c’est la vie!

So what do you think?  Liberating or horrifying…would you do it?

See more on the ‘Trash The Dress’ website or in the Flickr group.

(Images by: Kamp Photography and Bumatay Studio)

Written by Denise

thUTCp31UTC07bUTCTue, 29 Jul 2008 00:37:55 +0000 11, 2008 at 12:37 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love it! Especially since much (not all) of the time, the dress just needs to be cleaned, and you were going to do that anyway!

    Starry-Eyed Barefoot Bride

    thUTCp31UTC07bUTCTue, 29 Jul 2008 01:37:00 +0000 11, 2008 at 1:37 am

  2. You know what, that’s true…most brides have it cleaned anyway! 🙂 I guess it all does depend on how much they trash it…ha ha but you could always just get it a little dirty, right? No harm in that…lol.

    Thanks for reading! 🙂
    -Jaime

    Jaime

    thUTCp31UTC07bUTCTue, 29 Jul 2008 01:42:39 +0000 11, 2008 at 1:42 am

  3. I love some of the photos this produces and I definitely think yeah, get it dirty. But ruining it? No way. I am a firm believer people should sell their wedding dresses or give them to charity so that someone else can use them. If you destroy it or keep it in a cupboard, more have to be produced… more stuff the world doesn’t need.

    Guilty Secret

    thUTCp31UTC07bUTCTue, 29 Jul 2008 19:24:49 +0000 11, 2008 at 7:24 pm

  4. Some of the photos created by a TTD shoot are incredible! I agree with guilty, I’m ok with getting it a little dirty… I would never want it ruined or destroyed, I’d die. And my mom would kill me =)

    Fabulously Lizy

    stUTCp31UTC07bUTCThu, 31 Jul 2008 11:59:02 +0000 11, 2008 at 11:59 am

  5. I agree, ladies! I still haven’t decided what to do with my dress yet – it’s still hanging in my closet…I love it, sometimes I still try it on just for fun…lol. I was thinking of actually making a blanket out of it perhaps…I’d love to give it away but don’t think I ever could, as it has sentimental meaning to me and I’m a sentimental freak that way…lol. Hmm…maybe I should start learning how to sew…riiiight. Baby steps. 😉

    Jaime

    stUTCp31UTC07bUTCThu, 31 Jul 2008 16:27:03 +0000 11, 2008 at 4:27 pm


Leave a Reply

