IT’S A JAIME THING…

Wedding inspiration, ideas and all things creative!

It’s Our 5-Year Wedding Anniversary!

with 7 comments

Today My Husband and I Are Celebrating Our 5th Wedding Anniversary!

(Yes, this post is a mushy one!)

I remain the luckiest girl in this world.  Today my husband and I are celebrating 5 wonderful married years together…though we’ve actually been together for 10 years total! 

Thinking back, I don’t think I would have changed a thing about our wedding.  We had a black and white wedding.  I carried a bouquet of black magic roses, wore a dress by Mon Cheri, and my bridesmaids carried bouquets of white calla lillies and wore long black strapless dresses by Dessy.  The guys wore black and white tuxes with calla bouts.  Best of all, I married my husband…who before we met, I never thought such a wonderful man even exhisted.

We married in the Catholic Church, in front of all our friends and family.  Afterwards, we celebrated over dinner, drinks and dancing during the reception.  Oh, and we can’t forget the cake.  Yum.

The night flew by too quickly (I highly suggest having your pictures taken before the ceremony, so you can spend more time celebrating than posing for the camera), and then my husband and I were off to stay at The Ritz Carlton in Chicago for four nights for our honeymoon.  We stayed in the Anniversary Suite, which we hope to eventually visit again someday.  

For now, we celebrate our anniversary every year, and our love every day!  We look forward to many more happy years together.  Marriage rocks.  If you both believe in it, stick to it, and marry for the right reasons, marriage can be the most wonderful thing you’ll ever experience! 

I’m still madly in love with my husband, and realize I’m truly Blessed.  I am one lucky girl.  Even though he claims he’s the lucky one…ha ha.  Whatever, we’re both lucky to have found eachother.  I married my best friend! 

If you’ve actually decided to read this entire mushy post, here’s something to entertain you.  The “traditional 5th wedding anniversary gift” is wood.  Riiiiight….

Written by Jaime

thUTCp30UTC04bUTCFri, 04 Apr 2008 11:32:51 +0000 11, 2008 at 11:32 am

Posted in Life, Weddings

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations! I thought it was so sweet for you to post this. My husband and I are celebrating our 5th Anniv this year too and it honestly just gets better 🙂 Cheers!

    Maria

    thUTCp30UTC04bUTCFri, 04 Apr 2008 20:54:07 +0000 11, 2008 at 8:54 pm

  2. Congratulations Jaime! What a sweet post. You’re right about the wedding day going by fast, so do the years! My husband and I celebrated our 15th anniversary last fall and it still seems like the wedding was just yesterday. Enjoy!

    Sharleen

    thUTCp30UTC04bUTCSat, 05 Apr 2008 03:27:55 +0000 11, 2008 at 3:27 am

  3. How fantastic! Congratulations to the both of you!!

    ready2spark

    thUTCp30UTC04bUTCSat, 05 Apr 2008 04:37:26 +0000 11, 2008 at 4:37 am

  4. Happy Anniversary to you both!! I know it’s tomorrow, but a day early is ok right? : )

    Love you Jaim!

    Your Dad and Mary

    thUTCp30UTC04bUTCSat, 05 Apr 2008 06:11:29 +0000 11, 2008 at 6:11 am

  5. Congratulations! Nothing to sneeze at…five years. Add ten more and that’s where we will be this July!

    saundra, event engineer

    thUTCp30UTC04bUTCSun, 06 Apr 2008 04:04:40 +0000 11, 2008 at 4:04 am

  6. May your marriage continue to grow and become even more beautiful as the years go by, congratulations!

    Denise

    thUTCp30UTC04bUTCSun, 06 Apr 2008 08:37:15 +0000 11, 2008 at 8:37 am

  7. Congrats!!! I just stumbled upon your blog! I love this post!! HOW SWEET!!!!

    for the wood anniversary gift….its all in how you interpret in….if you own a home together–this could mean kitchen makeover with new cabinets, etc. or hard wood throughout the house, etc. Those kinds of gifts could be FUN!!!

    Meredith

    thUTCp30UTC04bUTCThu, 10 Apr 2008 01:06:53 +0000 11, 2008 at 1:06 am


Leave a Reply

