IT’S A JAIME THING…

Wedding inspiration, ideas and all things creative!

For Bitter Or For Worse…

leave a comment »

 Ok, I get it.  I started to understand that no matter how happy you are about your wedding day, fiance, or marriage, there will always be people who look at you like you’re nuts for even thinking about getting married. 

Yes, I’m sure you’ve witnessed it too…people you run into at the gas station ask you, “Why on earth would you want to get married?!”, when you tell them you’re engaged.  Fine…ha ha, funny funny…but after hearing so many bitter jokes, it starts to get old. 

Sure, maybe their marriage didn’t work out.  Guess what?  That doesn’t mean yours won’t.  I used to get upset when random people would joke about it…after hearing it so often.  It was no longer a joke to me.  So one time I finally said, “Ok, well fine, then.  If you think having a wedding and getting married is such a horrible idea, then you don’t have to come to the wedding, ok?”.   That shut them up real quickly.  Although now I realize I might have just been a little emotional that day…ha ha.  Whoopsie daisies!  Hey, I’m only human!

I don’t know about you, but I only wanted people at our wedding who were supportive of our love.  Don’t let anyone bring you down…but try to know the difference between wedding bashing and wedding jokes…it’s hard.  Most people don’t mean any harm by their words…they just think they’re funny.  But if they continue to knock your decision to marry, then feel free to throw something at them.  HA! 

(Planning can, at times, get stressful.  Stress can sometimes make you become a tad emotional…so go home, relax, and take a bubble bath.  Say it with me, “Calgon, take me away!”.)

Photoshopped magazine cover found at: www.ihateweddings.com

Written by Jaime

thUTCp29UTC02bUTCFri, 15 Feb 2008 00:01:18 +0000 11, 2008 at 12:01 am

Posted in That's Funny!, Weddings

Leave a Reply

