IT’S A JAIME THING…

Wedding inspiration, ideas and all things creative!

Top This Party!

leave a comment »

Is This Reality?

So you think you want to be a weddings and events planner?  I know.  I get it, because I too want to be a professional event planner someday.  I truly do, with all my heart!  However, before jumping into it blinded, I’m learning more about it.  I want to make sure this is the right career decision I’m making (I mean, am I really ready to take the punches some brides are sure to throw?).

Maybe planning events and weddings is my passion now, but am I ready to roll with the big dogs?  Ask me that in a few years, and I’ll say yes.  For now, I have so much more to learn.  It’s not as easy as it looks.  It takes a lot of hard work and I understand that.  I’m currently researching the industry every day and trying to get as much experience as I can through events for friends and family.  But that’s the easy stuff (Uh, yeh…totally not able to compare that to working with strangers).

I hope the opportunity comes along where I can intern with several differnet vendors to learn each aspect of the business hands-on.  I’m slowly but truly starting to put together a portfolio of weddings and events I’ve planned so far.  I’m looking into programs to refine my organizational skills, as those skills are key.  I’m also looking into taking different courses to learn more.  The goal is to start small, and grow big.  I’ll make it happen.  But it takes time.  Ha ha…funny how I’m planning how I’m going to plan.

How did I get inspired?  Well, I fell in love with planning the first day I started to plan our wedding.  When our amazing wedding day was over, I didn’t want to stop planning.  So I didn’t.  I went on to plan parties, showers and weddings for friends and family.  Then I started to blog about it.  Through blogging, I’ve been introduced to several very talented event planning professionals, who have inspired me even more.  It’s become an obsession…I LOVE weddings.  I LOVE parties.  Sign me up, I’m in!

First, let me share with you a new “reality” tv show which I find very entertaining!  “Top This Party” on Lifetime. “Top This Party” follows event planners Brian Dobbin in Orange County, CA. and Brian “Breakfast” Rice in Las Vegas, NV. as they produce these spectacular parties for their very elite clientele

While I find this show amusing, I have to wonder – is this reality?  I mean how many of these clients, who are willing to spend millions of dollars on a single event, are really out there?  Obviously this represents the elite, but where does that distinction begin?  I think one of the most important things is understanding how to manage people, and knowing how to meet a clients’ needs without allowing them to walk all over you. 

In this show, the clients expect miracles to happen.  They often expect the impossible.  My question is what happens if you cannot make these miracles happen?  I mean, where do you draw the line?  Is there a line to be drawn?  Obviously clients deserve the majority of their expectations to be met based on their budget, but what happens when it’s unrealistic?  While this question might seem daunting, for me the challenge is the excitement. 

As I watch the show, I see where the planners may have gone wrong in dealing with their clients. I think the first priority in any meeting should be defining what the client is looking for, what the budget is, and how they see the outcome of the event.  If you ask these simple questions, I feel that a lot of problems could be avoided.   While I am no expert on the subject, I think a little common sense would go a long way.  What do you guys think?

Watch this video interview with Brian Dobbin, as he explains what he does, and how he does it.  Then watch what you’ve missed either On-line or On Demand.  Stay tuned and watch it every Friday at 10 & 10:30 pm et/pt.

Happy planning!

Written by Jaime

thUTCp29UTC02bUTCSun, 10 Feb 2008 14:04:22 +0000 11, 2008 at 2:04 pm

Leave a Reply

