IT’S A JAIME THING…

Wedding inspiration, ideas and all things creative!

Home Sweet Home!

with 4 comments

Ok so I apologize for not posting as much lately, but you know how busy moving makes you!  Yes, yes it’s been quite hectic these past couple weeks, but we’re finally starting to get settled in.  Still tons of work to do, especially in the bedrooms and bathroom, but the living room and kitchen are coming along great!  Here are a few pictures, check out our new red wall!

While I love our red wall, I feel like I need to brighten it up in there somehow…I don’t want it to be too dark or too red.  It’s hard though, with the new couches and brown carpet. 

Our old townhome (see earlier post) had lighter porcelain tile floors in the living room and white trim, so I think that helped.  The new place has brown carpet and wood trim, I’m hoping it’s not looking too “rustic“.  Any ideas?  Here’s a pic of our old townhome…

The picture below is our new townhome.  It really doesn’t do it’s justice, I’ve got candles everywhere and when it’s all nice and lit up, especially with the glow from the candles in the evenings, I’m in love.  But one MUST lighten this up some!  The majority of the living room walls are a khaki color…as shown in picture below:

Please excuse the messy boxes, I’m not done unpacking yet!  While unpacking, I’m also organizing things and throwing things out, so it’s taking a bit longer than normal to get settled.  However, I think when it’s all done, it’ll look great.  Wish me luck!

Written by Jaime

thUTCp30UTC11bUTCSun, 11 Nov 2007 02:56:21 +0000 11, 2008 at 2:56 am

Posted in Home Decor

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jaime!!! So cool to see the space. I love the red! And Pepper Ann is so cute in that second picture! I wouldn’t say it’s too rustic. When I feel boxed in by color, I try this: three colors. But don’t use them in equal amounts. One is your primary, one is secondary and the third is accent. Your primary here would be the red. I think the brown is working as your secondary right now. Try thinking of the brown as a neutral and bring in yellow as your secondary. A little in an area rug maybe, which would ground the furniture. And in throw pillows or throws. You already have yellow in the picture so you wouldn’t need much more and you don’t want as much of it as red (the red has to stay primary). Then the accent. Have fun with the accent and use just a tiny bit. Think, unexpected punch. The right blue or green could work (those plants on the desk are kinda adding punch right now). Or plum???… I’d try to go with a cooler color because everything else is warm. You can use inexpensive items for the accent color. I bet if you look closely in that painting, you’ll see a tiny bit of a color that will work!

    It’s looking great!!!

    Denise

    thUTCp30UTC11bUTCSun, 11 Nov 2007 20:57:26 +0000 11, 2008 at 8:57 pm

  2. Hi!!!
    I love your red wall. I love (even more) the picture that you have on the red wall. Do you know it is one in a series? I have been looking for those pictures (in particular the one you have on your wall) for 2 years now. If you ever decide that you want to part with it, will you please let me know? You can email me at ldbaldwin(at)gmail(dot)(com). That wall is awesome. 🙂

    jkc1987

    thUTCp30UTC11bUTCMon, 12 Nov 2007 03:04:28 +0000 11, 2008 at 3:04 am

  3. Thanks, jkc1987! I actually got that print at Bed Bath and Beyond…I love it the same! You might be able to find it on http://www.art.com, or some other art/picture site. I’ll try to see who the artist was, and email you. Take care!

    Jaime

    thUTCp30UTC11bUTCSun, 18 Nov 2007 21:51:50 +0000 11, 2008 at 9:51 pm

  4. Oh! I got it…

    Title: De Nice
    Artist: Miguel Dominguez

    found it on http://www.allposters.com, I’m sure they could frame it…mine is not a poster, it’s a picture with texture, though not sure which kind.

    Jaime

    thUTCp30UTC11bUTCSun, 18 Nov 2007 21:53:50 +0000 11, 2008 at 9:53 pm


Leave a Reply

