IT’S A JAIME THING…

Wedding inspiration, ideas and all things creative!

De Colores!

with 7 comments

 Much exciting news to share!  We are moving!  Fear not dear friends, it’s not far.  But it is going to be ours, and so now I get to PAINT!  If you ever saw our last townhome, you’d understand why I plan to paint again in red.   Not only did it look awesome, but the red wall became special because it was originally painted by my brother-in-law, who’s life was loved, and then lost.  So in memory of him, I want to paint in red again.  Though it might not be done as perfectly as he did it for us, I’m going to try my best!  Here’s what our old place looked like:

We used the red ~

And a tan color ~ with white trim.

 I loved it.  I miss it.  But now we have a chance to recreate it!  Since we do not have the exact paint chips, I tried to find the closest colors possible.  The colors we have picked for our new living room are:

Classic Burgundy by Benjamin Moore

& Bradstreet Beige by Benjamin Moore. 

I’ll keep my eyes open for swatches to show you, and of course, I’ll be posting before and after pictures soon!  Wish me luck on this red…last time it took us about 6 coats to cover the wall, so this time we’re being smart and using primer first…lol  Let the painting begin!

 

Written by Jaime

thUTCp31UTC10bUTCTue, 30 Oct 2007 14:34:27 +0000 11, 2008 at 2:34 pm

Posted in Home Decor

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yessss!!!! color! I have two words for you… tinted primer. And get good quality paint. I’m partial to Behr. You saw the dark pink wall in Bridget’s room right, one coat tinted primer, two coats color… and that was over nasty paneling. Not bad. Call if you need help!

    Denise

    thUTCp31UTC10bUTCTue, 30 Oct 2007 18:01:13 +0000 11, 2008 at 6:01 pm

  2. Awesome, Dee! 🙂 Thanks!!! I’m really excited…my mom and I started painting the tan color (more khaki-ish actually) yesterday, but it got too dark so we decided to wait to do more for better lighting (we’ve only got a few lamps..lol, the place only has built in lighting in the kitchen & bathroom. lol.

    I was totally thinking of you yesterday, actually…because I can’t decide what colors to paint the guest room, bathroom, and our bedroom. I LOVE how you helped Jill & Eric pick colors for their living room, those colors looked GREAT together!!!

    I decided to stick with the same colors as our last townhome for the living room/kitchen because all of the decor/pictures/pillows I have match…and I didn’t want to go out and have to buy new things. Plus, I LOVED our red wall. 🙂 We haven’t started on the red yet, we’re doing that last.

    I move in on Saturday, so we’re trying to get it done by then, so if you have any other suggestions or would like to help, that’d be great!!! Also, I told my mom about your craft show coming up, and she is excited, she really wants to go with me, so that’ll be neat.

    Anyhow, have a great day, I’ll be in and out all week, but if you want to call me you have my number, right? If not, call my mom, she’ll be with me all week too. Love you! -Jaime 🙂

    Jaime

    thUTCp31UTC10bUTCTue, 30 Oct 2007 19:05:33 +0000 11, 2008 at 7:05 pm

  3. P.S. Tinted primer for the red wall…but what color do you think? I think last time we did grey? Does that sound about right? Or should I do a different tint? Lindsay & Brock already primed it with a white primer, but I’m nervous to just stick with that. Thanks!!!

    Jaime

    thUTCp31UTC10bUTCTue, 30 Oct 2007 19:06:44 +0000 11, 2008 at 7:06 pm

  4. Jaime!!! They can tint the paint with the same red that you’re using. If you want to use the same primer all all the walls (tan included), then go with the lighter color for your tint. Bridget had dark pink on one wall and a bright yellow on the other three. We did the primer with the yellow tint.

    I’d love to help you pick colors on your other walls, but I’m busy tonight and tomorrow. Are those rooms getting painted later? Maybe I could swing by over the weekend. I’ll try to call you later.

    I hope you guys can make it to the craft show… I’d love to see you both!! Tell your Mom I said ‘hi’! Love ya!

    Denise

    stUTCp31UTC10bUTCWed, 31 Oct 2007 14:02:25 +0000 11, 2008 at 2:02 pm

  5. First coat of red is DONE! 🙂 YAY!

    Jaime

    stUTCp30UTC11bUTCThu, 01 Nov 2007 05:24:02 +0000 11, 2008 at 5:24 am

  6. Yeah!! I posted yesterday and it didn’t take, darn. Anyway.. primer… you can have them tint it the same color as the final paint. If you’re doing a few colors, go with the lightest. On Bridget’s room, we did that dark pink on one wall, the other three were bright yellow. We tinted the primer with the yellow. Worked great!!

    Tried to call you, I’m busy tonight. But if you need help Saturday or Friday night, let John and I know. I could come over one night next week too if you want me to help you pick colors.

    That would be great if you and your Mom can make the craft show, I hope you can!!!

    Denise

    stUTCp30UTC11bUTCThu, 01 Nov 2007 12:39:15 +0000 11, 2008 at 12:39 pm

  7. SECOND coat of red is DONE! 🙂 YAY! (It turned out great!)

    Hey, Dee! 🙂 Thanks! This weekend might be hectic, as the place is a mess since we’re unpacking still. However, Jill is coming over Saturday, if you want to stop by you’re more than welcome! 🙂 No biggie though!

    Otherwise, maybe one day after work, once we’re all unpacked and have the bedrooms set up, we could pick out paint colors…but ONLY if you’re not busy. I know you are both crazy busy with work and the kids so please, no pressure…no worries…it’d simply be a fun excuse to hang out! 🙂 lol

    You should have seen me in the paint chip aisle at ACE, lol like a “kid in a candy store”. 🙂 Soooo many colors, how’s a girl to choose? I’m thinking neautral might be my best bet…but I don’t want the same as the living room. And while neautral might be my best bet (only so I don’t ever have to paint it back…lol) I REALLY want some sort of fun tint of color, so I just can’t make up my mind…lol.

    Anyhow, have a wonderful weekend, and I’m sure I’ll talk to you soon. Thanks again!!! 🙂

    Jaime

    ndUTCp30UTC11bUTCFri, 02 Nov 2007 03:57:44 +0000 11, 2008 at 3:57 am


Leave a Reply

