IT’S A JAIME THING…

Wedding inspiration, ideas and all things creative!

Stormy Weather! 8-23-07

with one comment

The storm came up on us so quickly I tried to drive away from it but did not have time, so I parked my car and ran into Best Buy to take cover…not the best place, but this storm gave me no choice!  The tornado warnings were going off, it was getting really dark out, and soon enough, the shopping carts were being driven by wind in the parking lot, people’s umbrellas were turned inside out, horizontal rain was flying everywhere!

Storms are exciting, yet terrifying to me when they get bad.  As I took cover inside the store, I prayed while shaking.  I tried calling my sister and husband to make sure they took cover, but could not get ahold of anyone, as the phone service was out everywhere.  I know not to mess with Mother Nature, but I do enjoy taking pictures of her!  Look at this storm front coming in….this was the first storm.  Around 3pm.

After the first storm, I drove north to try to go to my sister’s house.  Traffic was so terrible, all the lights were out from the storm that had just passed.  So instead of being stuck in traffic, I waited out rush hour inside of Target.  Sure enough, a new storm was brewing…so I went outside before it hit and took some more pictures….these were from the second storm, that lasted forever!

I freak myself out wondering if any of the clouds I saw were funnel clouds.  It got very green and black outside. 

When I said it got black outside, it got BLACK!  As if it were midnight.  Keep in mind, these pictures were taken about 6:30pm-7pm-ish.  I lost track of time, it was such a long lasting storm!  The picture below, well, that is NOT the sunset.

In this picture, below, I can’t help but wonder if that was a really large funnel cloud, or just a really large cloud….what do you think?

Target had a great storm plan.  They kept in touch with the local police department, and were ready to shove us all into a reinforced storm hall in the back of the store.

And finally, HERE is your sunset.  Absolutely beautiful…I wish I was a better photographer and new how to capture these pictures better, but I tried my best!

Written by Jaime

thUTCp31UTC08bUTCSat, 25 Aug 2007 10:49:49 +0000 11, 2008 at 10:49 am

Posted in Photography

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, those are some good shots. Good to know about Target’s storm plan, for the next time someone is stuck out in this crazy weather. That red sky is beautiful: “Red sky at night, sailor’s delight; Red sky at morning, sailors take warning.”… hmmm interesting, they forcasted more storms the next day but we didn’t get them… there was a red sky at night!

    Denise

    thUTCp31UTC08bUTCSun, 26 Aug 2007 14:44:36 +0000 11, 2008 at 2:44 pm


Leave a Reply

