IT’S A JAIME THING…

Wedding inspiration, ideas and all things creative!

All Bottled Up…

with 5 comments

…Got A Lot Of Bottled Up Energy?  Put It To Stylishly Crafty Use!

My sister keeps telling me to recycle.  So while I may not have a bin yet (I’m working on it!), I do have an entire closet filled with bottles, corks and jars that I’ve been saving for over 5 years now!  If you didn’t know me well, you’d think I was a lush or something if you ever opened that closet.  No worries, my friends and family have been helping me collect these items too. 

I plan on making beautiful things out my collection someday!  For now, let me inspire you to do the same.  Create with me useful items and decor out of bottles, corks and jars.  Together, we can save the planet and create crafty, unique events all at the same time!

Bottled Up In A Jar!

Imagine the possibilities.  Need to make a special, sentimental gift for your bridesmaids?  Get out some empty bottles, cut out pictures and phrases from magazines that remind you of your friend, tape to bottle and cover entire bottle with Modge Podge!  Once dry, decorate with ribbons, crystals or any other little trinket

Need an affordable way to decorate your day?  Use old bottles, jars or empty candle holders and turn them into fresh new vases or votive holders

wine-bottle-and-jar-wedding-decor-ideas

(Above Photo credits:  Left – Bottle I created, Middle Top – Living Small, Middle Bottom – The Knot, Right – The Hope Jar)

Cork It!

How cool would it be to make your own cake stand using wine corks?  Or menu and placecard holders, anything your little heart can imagine.  Get creative… 

wine-cork-wedding-decor-ideas-board-by-itsajaimethingdotcom

(Photo credits:  Top L – Details Details, Bottom L – Craft Stylish, Middle – Je Mange La Ville, Right – Natalie Moser Photography)

Fantastic Plastic!

I bet it would be time consuming indeed, but if you’ve got it in you, could you create something with your old water bottles like designer Michelle Brand did below?   Seriously, would you have ever guessed those gorgeous, airy designs were made from plastic water bottles?  Amazing, isn’t it?  Imagine that as your backdrop for your wedding pictures

michelle-brand-recycled-bottle-decor-board-by-itsajaimethingdotcom

(Photo credits: Plastic bottle art by Designer Michelle Brand via Green Design Girl)

Have other ideas?  Please comment below and share, we’d love to hear.  Happy crafting, everyone!

Written by Jaime

thUTCp31UTC01bUTCMon, 05 Jan 2009 17:40:12 +0000 11, 2008 at 5:40 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh, those are so adorable! Especially the plastic bottles at the end. I love that. I normally don’t drink bottled water, but that makes me want to do it so I can make one!

    christinetremoulet

    thUTCp31UTC01bUTCMon, 05 Jan 2009 17:53:30 +0000 11, 2008 at 5:53 pm

  2. what great ideas! i’m def. forwarding your site to my gf’s who are planning their weddings right now.

    Nina

    thUTCp31UTC01bUTCMon, 05 Jan 2009 22:57:01 +0000 11, 2008 at 10:57 pm

  3. LOVE the decorated bottles! But, NOT a lush? Denial, denial, denial. :)

    somuchmorethanamom

    thUTCp31UTC01bUTCTue, 06 Jan 2009 09:26:06 +0000 11, 2008 at 9:26 am

  4. Thanks for the comments, ladies!

    *Nina, it’s very sweet of you to forward my blog to your friends, thank you! Please let them know if they need any help, ideas or other inspiration, I’d be happy to help. :)

    *Cyndi (a.k.a somuchmorethanamom) – Hardeee, har, har! You’re a funny girl… ;) Please, if I have even one cosmo I’m a happy little lady! Two cosmos will make me dance. But if you think giving me a third will make me kareoke, forget it – I’m out the door!

    Cheers, thanks for reading everyone!!!
    -Jaim

    Jaime

    thUTCp31UTC01bUTCTue, 06 Jan 2009 09:34:42 +0000 11, 2008 at 9:34 am

  5. Thanks for featuring my recycling bin rescues-turned-candleholders, Jaime! Glad to know that living Small is wedding friendly, too.

    livingsmall

    thUTCp31UTC01bUTCThu, 15 Jan 2009 23:19:44 +0000 11, 2008 at 11:19 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

