IT’S A JAIME THING…

Wedding inspiration, ideas and all things creative!

What’s Your Flavor?

with 2 comments

Today’s Subject: Neaplitan Ice Cream!

Ever since I was little, whenever I’d eat neapolitan ice cream, I’d always just scoop out the chocolate part for myself to eat.  The other flavors, vanilla and strawberry, I never really cared for.  I like them, just fine, but I much prefer chocolate.  I love chocolate! 

So as a child, whenever my parents would buy neapolitan ice cream, my sisters and I would always just scoop out the flavor we liked best, which between the 3 of us, ended up being either the vanilla or chocolate, but never the strawberry.  It’s just how it was.  It’s just what we did.

Tonight, I went grocery shopping with my father-in-law (while visiting them) and he asked which flavor I wanted.  I figured since I knew he liked vanilla, and I liked chocolate, we’d just get neapolitan!  Perfect!  Right?  Well apparently we grew up in somewhat different houses. 

I served myself some chocolate out of the neapolitan like I always do, and left the rest.  Not 15 minutes later did my father-in-law get himself some ice cream, and jokingly yelled, “Jaime….you are going to drive me nuts like my sons did when they were little, aren’t you!”.  I was confused…he had this smirk on his face like I was nuts, so I asked what he was talking about. 

He said, “You do the same things my sons used to do, and it used to drive me crazy.  You dig the chocolate out of the neapolitan ice cream, and leave the other flavors!  You’re supposed to scoop all three together, not just the flavor you like!  If you wanted chocolate, I could have just gotten you chocolate!”.  Then he laughed. 

Aaaah yes, I am officially “one of his kids” now, aren’t I! :)  Too funny…so this leads me to wonder.  Do you scoop all 3 flavors together when eating neapolitan, or do you pick out only your favorite flavor like I do?  Maybe I’m not the only crazy one after all. :)

Written by Jaime

thUTCp31UTC10bUTCMon, 08 Oct 2007 02:50:48 +0000 11, 2008 at 2:50 am

Posted in Food & Drink

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Totally! I just scooped out the chocolate too!

    paperseed

    thUTCp31UTC10bUTCMon, 08 Oct 2007 18:57:50 +0000 11, 2008 at 6:57 pm

  2. lol Great! So I’m not the only “crazy” one! :) Yay!

    Jaime

    thUTCp31UTC10bUTCMon, 08 Oct 2007 19:25:09 +0000 11, 2008 at 7:25 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

